European University Cyprus

European University Cyprus developed out of Cyprus College, which was founded in 1961 by Ioannis Gregoriou. The purpose was to provide a well-rounded education of high caliber, so that students would acquire the necessary academic and practical knowledge in their fields of study. A major development in the College’s history took place in 2000, when programs of study leading to Diploma, Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees were accredited by the Accreditation Council (SEKAP) of the Republic of Cyprus.

On 24 February 2006 an application was filed for the establishment and operation of a private University according to the “Private Universities (Establishment, Operation and Control) Law 109(1) of 2005”. The application evaluation process by the Evaluation Committee of Private Universities of the Republic of Cyprus, which was laborious and involved on-site visits of several evaluation teams, led to the acceptance of the application in September 2007.

On 12 September 2007, the Council of Ministers of the Republic of Cyprus rendered a decision for the establishment and operation of European University Cyprus, and licensed it to start its operation as of 1 October 2007, with four Schools, namely, the School of Arts and Education Sciences, the School of Business Administration, the School of Humanities and Social Sciences, and the School of Sciences. All undergraduate and postgraduate programs offered by European University Cyprus are recognised nationally and internationally.

Contact person(s):
Kosta Gouliamos, Professor, Vice-rector for Research, European University Cyprus