Northern (Arctic) Federal University, Russia

Northern Arctic Federal University named after M.V. Lomonosov located in Arkhangelsk is North-West Russia’s largest research and educational centre, a member of Eurasian University Association and Association of the Leading Russian Universities. It was established in 2010 by a merger between Arkhangelsk State Technical University (ASTU), Pomor State University, Peter the Great Forestry Engineering College in Arkhangelsk and Severodvinsk Technical College.

Being one of Russia’s nine federal universities, NArFU has a mission of supporting Russian Federation Arctic Strategy implementation. NArFU is the only Russian university being tasked with training experts of international level for the Arctic in areas such as engineering, technology, mathematics, humanities and life sciences. Alongside with natural and technical sciences the University has long-standing academic traditions in training specialists in linguistics, intercultural communication, journalism, law, international relations, psychology and pedagogics (the university offers over 260 academic programmes in total). NArFU 3 branches and 17 institutes currently have more than 24000 students.

International cooperation is one of NArFU priority areas. Today the university is developing international relations with more than 100 foreign universities, companies and organizations from 27 countries of the world. NArFU is actively collaborating within various international networks and consortia. It acts as a member of the governing bodies and key actor of the University of the Arctic and hosts University of the Arctic Research Office. Since 2012 it has been co-chairing Barents Euro-Arctic Council Joint Working Group on Education and Research being aimed at expanding scientific and educational collaboration in the Barents Region. In 2013 it was nominated the Northern Dimension Institute co-coordinator.

Contact person(s):
Marina Kalinina, PhD in Philosophy,Vice-Rector for International Cooperation
Svetlana Pirogova,Head of Communications and International Protocol Unit, International Cooperation Department